See Sara Run

So let’s ditch the poop talk for a moment and talk about the mommy a little bit. I want to take a minute to say that my first week of “Oh Baby! Stroller Fitness” at our community fitness center has both kicked my butt and thrilled me enormously. We meet three times a week (right around nap time, of course), and there are other moms there with babies right around M’s age who are like me enough in that they are also interested in getting up and moving around so that an entire new wardrobe won’t be necessary to purchase.

We have two different instructors because the official instructor has a scheduling conflict, but it’s actually working out to be more of a good thing than a bad thing. Each one has her own way of leading the workout. One is more free-form and the other more structured, so we get the chance to work a variety of muscles in a variety of ways. Also? I’m learning how to use my own yoga ball for something other than baby bouncing.

So every day we do some warm up laps followed by the stroller lunges. And let me just tell you that after Monday’s class, I was hurting. And I had a lot of walking around to do on Monday and Tuesday. And the lunges on Wednesday morning again? Brutal. But today… today I feel awesome. Even though I couldn’t finish the suicides. Which, if you (like me) are not really the sporty type, is a running exercise. Run a short distance, touch the ground, run back to the start, touch, run a longer distance, touch, back to start, touch, longer, touch, back to start, etc. We were supposed to do five of these runs. I got to three, and that was pushing it. Sara is not a runner.

It was a good workout, but I didn’t really expect the running today because we hadn’t done that yet. I really like the parts of the workout when we actually get the babies out of the strollers and use them as weights and such. M loves those parts, too.

I’ve gotten to talk go a couple of the other moms, and the nice part about this class thing is that there are only six of us. Which means that we won’t be learning names until it’s over. I’m hoping that I can find some other common ground with these gals, and maybe we can continue to get together with our strollers for lunges that won’t require a monthly fee.

Leave a comment