28 Weeks

28 weeks

This is the first week of the third trimester. I’m so not ready for this. The third trimester is the last one of a pregnancy. Which is only three trimesters. That’s what a trimester is. A period of time divided into three. So here we are, entering the third. The last trimester. At the end of which, there will be a baby.

It’s sinking in pretty heavily now. We were out of town last week, in Wisconsin visiting family and doing our January Christmas thing, and even Baby X got a few little gifts. In just a few more months, we’ll be dressing him/her in those little things. And I haven’t even really started to prepare myself for the birth. Not to mention the fact of becoming a family of four.

I suppose, now that we’re here in the third of three trimesters, that should probably begin to change. It’s been hard to focus on baby to dos when there are so many other things going on.

I know it will all be okay. I have a great birth team. I’m considering whether I want a photographer (and how to pay someone if I do), and who might be available, willing and/or able to keep tabs on my big boy during the big event. We still have not discussed names in any real way. And I’m preoccupied with our current financial circumstances and the likely scenario of having to plan a move in the fall with an infant and a four-year-old also needing my constant attention.

So that’s the update as we enter the third trimester today. I think it’s time to make some lists. And break out the Hypnobirthing meditations.

Leave a Reply

