Whirlwind

Where has the time gone? I started making the Halloween costume that’s almost finished. I took a trip to Wisconsin. We had great family time and a trolley ride and a visit to a pumpkin farm and apple orchard where the caramel apples were delectable. I caught up with some old friends, enjoyed my kid- and kid-free time and am looking forward to the next time I’m there.

My husband turned 33. My son is about to be 3. So I’m (loosely) planning a birthday celebration for him. My parents are coming to town, and have I had any time to make our home the least bit presentable for them yet? Nope.

We’ve been talking birthday parties and dealing with that season-change cold that’s going around. I’ve been feeling guilty about neglecting the ol’ blog here, and so this is my way of breaking my October silence with just… something.

And if I’m going to do NaBloPoMo again this November, which I’m planning to do, I’d better start flexing these typing fingers again. Just saying.

Two things that are awesome, exciting, and perhaps a bit insane:

My in-laws are giving me a sewing machine for my birthday. I’m super excited because I’ll be able to do more projects, but I’m also a little bit scared because I already have so many other types of projects I don’t have the time for, so we’ll see what else gets neglected when that wonderful new distraction comes into my life.

I’ve been thinking about exercise. Again. I love running around and playing with my kid, which gets me up and moving more than the average couch potato, sure, but I’ve been feeling like my body needs more. But my problem has always been motivation. I don’t like exercise for exercise sake. I like taking classes. I like working out or walking or running with someone else. Well, I don’t have the money for a class. I don’t have a workout or running partner or group. So I’ve been thinking about giving myself a real and attainable goal. I’m thinking of running a race. Nothing huge. Not a marathon or anything. But maybe a 5k  or something to see how I like it. The training the timing, the participation, the crossing the finish line. I’ve never been a runner, but because it’s something I might be able to accomplish with minimal investment, something that might let my body know I don’t want to take it for granted anymore, something that seems like it could unlock some hidden potential for me.

So there. I said it. I’m still not 100% convinced that the running thing will actually happen yet. Especially since the weather’s now getting colder and it’s getting harder just to get out of bed in the morning, much less step outside in the frosty dawn. I’m thinking if I go for it, I’ll probably be an evening or night time runner. Like let Daddy handle the bedtime and do a half an hour or so instead of putzing about online or in front of the TV. We’ll see if it works. I really feel like I need to do something good for myself. And maybe running will be it.

Leave a Reply

