Teriffic

Yesterday when I got home from work, M was watching Curious George on the small DVD player in the office while Daddy went through decades of old paperwork. He came over to me and said, “You wanna watch George with me?” and took me by the hand to come and sit with him on the floor.

I told him that I would love to watch with him, but I needed to change out of my work shirt first. So he ran ahead of me into the bedroom and began a new elaborate game wherein he brought every item from his bedroom floor and the bed itself into my bed. He had to do it by the armload, so he needed help for, “all these things and this stuff.” And once it was all on the bed, he jumped up and flopped down into the pile again and again, cracking himself up and chattering to me the whole time.

When did he become such a big boy full of articulate and enthusiastic personality?

Things I really like about him right now:

  • He still mispronounces several words, my favorite of which has to be “cracker” for “tractor.”
  • The pronouns are still a little bit confusing– everyone is male in his world, and the personal possessive is “mine” rather than “my,” as in, “I need batteries for mine hole.”
  • Speaking of batteries, anytime anything is not working to his satisfaction, he declares that it must need batteries, like the helium balloon that doesn’t float in the air after a day.
  • He does this crazy wobbly dance, especially at bedtime while making an “ah” noise with his mouth. Totally hard to describe, but completely adorable.
  • He will specifically request to be nude. Sometimes. Other times, he takes his pants and underpants off and declares that he’s “Mister Nude.”
  • He says “bless you” when we sneeze, “excuse me” when he burps (or farts), and about 25% of the time uses “please” and “thank you” without prompting.
  • He’s such a people person. He can be a little bit shy and reserved at first, but it doesn’t take long for anyone to get his big grin and an invitation to play with him, even if he doesn’t always share nicely.
  • He still requires a number of cuddles during the course of a day, and occasionally reaches for “the dot” (that little mole on my chest that was his touchstone in the nursing days) for comfort.
  • He’s learning how to say “I’m sorry.”
  • He’s my big boy, and very proud of that, though every once in awhile, he’ll still come to me and call himself my “little baby,” so I’ll cradle him just like I did when he actually was one.
  • He tells me he loves me, often without prompting and sometimes even without me telling him first.

I’m starting to think that these so-called “terrible twos” were just a big scare tactic to keep me on birth control for the better part of my fertile years. In my experience with M, the twos are pretty darned terrific.

One thought on “Teriffic

  1. Mom says:

    I love this blog!! Hearing about Mr. M always makes me smile and sometimes LOL!! He is the best! AND a TERRIFIC 2 year old!! We are so looking forward to celebrating his 3 with you kids! LU

Leave a Reply

