Thrift

I got a new book for $0.60 this afternoon. And a barely used coloring/activity book for M for the plane for another $0.60. The book is The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time, so it’s not even like I have to be reading something no one’s ever heard about. I saw a couple other books I could have chosen, but when I go to the thrift store, I usually have a mission in mind. Today’s mission was a book to read on vacation. I would call it airplane reading, but with a two-year-old around, I’m not sure how much I’ll get to read on the actual plane. Included in my mission was that I would only buy one book. I am trying to keep the clutter down, you know.

My point is that I spent under $2.00 and found exactly what I was looking for. That’s less money than some “free” books have set me back in library fines (I know, I can renew online, but every once in awhile, I manage to forget).

Why doesn’t everyone do this?

And what was I doing before I started frequenting the thrift store?

I’ll tell you what I was doing. I was deluding myself into thinking that new was better than used. I used to do all my non-perishable shopping at the thrift store or Goodwill. Then I went through this phase of DINK-ness where I could actually afford new things. And I will say that new couches and beds are probably always going to be worth the extra money, but tables, bookshelves, and other easily cleaned hard-surface home furnishings last awhile and can save a bundle getting secondhand.

Now that we’re back on a tight budget, about the only things I can justify buying new anymore are gifts, underwear, bras and socks. Though I have seen my fellow thrifters picking out used bras, I just can’t go there yet, myself. And really, who donates used underwear and socks?

I will probably also need to shell out for some new sneakers, since I wear them to work and they take a real beating. I need those things to last, so I feel it’s best to shell out and make them mine from the start.

But seriously, maybe there’s something embarrassing for some people about shopping secondhand stores, but it actually makes me proud that I’m managing to save so much money for more important things.

Leave a Reply

