Goodnight Aughts

In the final hour of the decade, I don’t feel particularly moved in any direction. It’s true, we’re here on the verge of a new year, a new decade, which many of us use to make a new start in some area of our lives.

For me the last decade hasn’t been too bad. I graduated from college, moved to another new state, went to graduate school and got a masters degree. I fell out of love, fell in love again, got married, bought a condo and had a baby. I made some mistakes, some apologies, some poems, some art, and some websites. I made more new friends than old friends lost, and I reconnected with a lot of people I hadn’t heard from in some time. I learned some stuff about myself, about the world in which I live, and about what really matters. I couldn’t really ask for much more from ten years of living.

For the coming year, I’m keeping my goals pretty modest. I’m hoping to pay off the car and another good chunk of the credit card debt. I’m going to clear the clutter out of our house. I’m going to eat more vegetables and add a few new meals to my cooking repertoire. I’m going to draw more, write more, and find the time to participate in more creative activities outside my own home.

With luck, the economy will get better, my husband will stay motivated and finally find himself better positioned to get his career started for real, and maybe we can talk about adding to our family. If at this time next year, I’m knocked up and my husband is wearing a tie to work every day, if we have less debt and more savings, I’ll consider it a complete success. If at this time next year, I’m still aching for a baby and James is still wearing that yellow and blue name-tag five days a week, but we have less debt, more savings, healthier bodies and fewer objects crowding our home, I will still consider 2010 a win.

2009 hasn’t been the best year for us. There has been stasis. We’ve had some setbacks. But we’ve still got a lot of love. And we’ve got a lot more of that and a bunch of other stuff to look forward to in 2010.

Happy New Year, everyone! Hope it’s a good one.

One thought on “Goodnight Aughts

  1. mom says:

    Here’s to a good twenty-ten!!! Cheers!!!

Leave a Reply

