Admiration

I know I’m a good mom. I’m the best mom that M could have. It’s true. I won’t deny it.

But.

The thing is, I always seem to find myself looking around and thinking that all the other moms know more about this whole parenting thing than I do. And I can’t help wondering if they look at me and think the same thing. I mean, my kid is happy, polite, well adjusted, and even tends to do what I tell him to do on occasion. So maybe I even deserve some admiration.

After almost two years, I even sometimes feel like I do have some answers. That I can give advice with a bit of authority, even. But at the same time, I often feel a little bit lost. And I don’t even know why.

Maybe it’s just because the job is always changing. From day to day, there’s nothing to say that the way things were done yesterday is the way they should be done today. It can be trying. It can make me want to seek answers from every together-looking mom I see. But it’s also an amazing experience. Challenging. And I’m becoming a better person because of it. Even if I don’t have all the answers. Even if I never do.

2 thoughts on “Admiration

  1. Terri says:

    you are an awesome mom! But it doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks except you and Michael. But I am hoping that there are more good mom’s in the world than bad ones!! And every good mom thinks that her way is the right way—or she wouldn’t be doing it!! So about the advise thing? I wouldn’t give it unless you are asked! Mom’s usually don’t want to hear that what they are doing is wrong!! I’m just sayin’

  2. Sara says:

    I really try not to give unsolicited advice. But the other thing I realized since writing this little post was that no mom will withhold advice when solicited. We love being solicited. When someone asks you for advice, it validates what you’re doing. And I guess that’s what I was thinking about. That I tend to remember doing more of the asking than the advising most days.

Leave a Reply

