This Road

I never mean to leave my woes prominently displayed here at the top of my pages for all eternity. But sometimes, when the stuff you want to happen starts happening, it’s hard to find the time. Or words.

It doesn’t look like I thought. In fact, even though I find myself very excited about the motivation level in our household, the details are a little bit intimidating.

I’ve always said that I’m willing to sacrifice now for a big-picture-payoff later. So it’s time to put my money where my mouth is. I thought that it was already happening, and partly, it was. But I need to step up my game.

Our money situation, like everyone else’s right now, is starting to look a little bleak. Even though we’ve cut some of what we thought was bleeding us dry, there’s more work that needs to be done. We are still spending more than we make. Significantly. And I’m not sure if I hadn’t actually seen it before, or if I willed myself blind.

So we’re really cutting back to basics. Spending for need and sacrificing the want. I’ll be eating my sandwiches on cheap bread instead of fancy bagels. Cereal instead of muffins. Learning to cook more from scratch. Using less meat per meal, more rice, pasta, vegetables. Maybe even letting the digital transition kill our broadcast TV altogether.

I’ve got to call the bank to see about a credit card consolidation loan. Because if I can cut our monthly payments down to something closer to half of what they are, with lower fixed interest and no prepayment penalties, it will free up a nice chunk of the current income for those pesky things like gas, doctor’s appointments or beans.

I worked five hours overnight at the store last night. And I’m going to do it again on Monday. Because as tired as I was today, at least I didn’t have to worry about childcare. But the overnight opportunity with my current employer is a temporary one, unfortunately.

Which brings me to the next dot on the map. A stop I was hoping not to have to make. And it might not work out, but I have to try. I’m looking into a second job. Because as much as we cut expenses, there’s only so much we can do with our mortgage and the rest of our bills needing to be paid every month like they do. So the other option? Increase income.

I’m exploring my options with a fine-toothed comb, because I won’t be able to raise the bottom line with any authority if I have to pay out for childcare. Which means my availability is limited due to my husband’s long days at his full time gig. Work at home work is pretty scarce (if it’s even legit), but there is at least one lead I’m gearing up to follow next week. We’ll see how it goes.

In the meantime, I’m also very proud of my husband and how he has started to step up his game right there with me. I still pray four our continued devotion to the bigger pictures, to each other, to ourselves. And though I’ve too often found myself the disappointed optimist, apparently I never learn, because I do think these current investments will pay off big time in the end.

One thought on “This Road

  1. Mama JJ says:

    Here’s to hoping you guys can pull it off!

Leave a Reply

