Holiday Cheer

Yesterday at work, my manager had to refrain from punching me in the face.

Usually, our store pipes in the non-intrusive non-lyric-singing muzak for the registry makers and baby gift buyers. Because to shop in total and utter silence would be kind of creepy, and I guess lyrics always carry with them the potential to be dirty or offend someone in some way. Whatever. Sometimes I sing the words if I know the tune, though, because I’m an odd duck like that.

So I know it’s not even Thanksgiving yet, but this week, the store has started playing the holiday music. The chestnuts roasting, Santa Claus is coming, silver bell, sleigh ride stuff. With lyrics. Except, of course, for the Nutcracker stuff, which never had any words to begin with. And even though that one version of “Santa, Baby” that was sung by a man was a little disturbing, most of the staff (I think) agreed that it was kind of a nice change of pace to have some language coming through those speakers.

And they all definitely got a kick out of my enthusiasm and excitement over the music and lyrics, too. Because I was in high spirits yesterday. I was feeling right with the world, and so I was singing along. A lot. Because I know most of the words to those old carols. Which is one of the great things about the Christmas season. It gives me an excuse to open up my mouth and participate in the festivities, even if it’s only an echo of a carol in from the rafters of a chain retail store.

My manager, though, not having as jolly a day as I was. Hence the desire to punch the face of yours truly. But I know it had nothing to do with me, per se, because we’d just got a bunch of new stock that we had to find places for and inventory coming up, and I’m sure there is always a host of other stresses that those manager people have to deal with on a daily basis. She’s also in the process of buying a house. So yeah, I didn’t take it personally when she told me she wanted to pop me one, and really, I’m thinking that my nonsense and silliness of the afternoon shift helped ease all her troubles, if only a little, if only for a few moments here and there. I consider it a job well done.

P.S. I watch Gilmore Girls most days on the ABC Family network. Which has been advertising their whole 25 Days of Christmas programming pretty much non-stop the last few days. But I realized something. They are already playing Christmas movies every night, and it’s marketed as the “Countdown to the 25 Days of Christmas.” Meaning that for the next 19 days, the Christmas programming itself is also gearing up for the Christmas programming. My brain kind of wants to explode. I mean, I expect the early holiday stuff from the retail business end of things, but the whole extension of the holiday by a television network seems like it crosses the line. Or maybe it’s just me.

2 thoughts on “Holiday Cheer

  1. Terri says:

    Last week while we were in Florida, the Christmas decorations were being hung. Yes, every year the holiday season gets longer. And since we don’t have our family Christmas until January–let the season continue! LU, mom

  2. angela says:

    christmas songs, christmas music…what’s the difference really?

Leave a Reply

