Patience and Strength

I’m holding it together these last few days. I’ve been doing well. Going to play dates, to church, shopping. Even cleaning the house a little more than usual, which, granted, is more out of necessity than anything else since the baby’s pulling up on every piece of furniture in arm’s reach, and a coffee table cluttered with pencils, bills and computer cords isn’t the best spread of items with which a little one should amuse himself.

But the thing is, I’ve been mostly on my own. James is going through one of those demanding phases at his store, which means he’s working at least one shift every day. Sometimes more. So like I said, I’m holding it together. For the moment.

We have to do what we have to do, though. So I’ve been sending up some quick little prayers when times demand. I’m asking for patience and strength. That’s it. Because if I can just stay strong and be patient, I can handle whatever the kid throws at me when the husband isn’t around. And I can handle any mood the husband is in when he is at home.

I just got to remember the love. The fact that this rough patch is a short one. That we get to go see family soon. That we will have time together again some day.

And in the meantime, I also just have to be thankful that I have what I have. That being my magical, magical boobs for their ability to cause drowsiness in infants.

One thought on “Patience and Strength

  1. Dad says:

    Isn’t it funny that your brother just got off the phone with his “Mom” because he needed to talk to her. Even when Michael is old and grown, it will be Mom that matters. This is just the first year of a special closeness that changes form but in so many ways stays the same.

    Love you

Leave a Reply

