Thinking

So we’re heading back to the motherland on Thursday, which has my mind in packing mode. I’m thinking about breast milk and oatmeal. About dresses and haircuts. Car seats, strollers and baby gear.

I’m thinking about my computer. It would be easy enough to bring it along. I mean, I brought it with me when I flew by myself without issue. It was nice to have. But this is a short trip. I’m thinking that a camera and a notebook will suffice. I can check my email anywhere. Write a blog post on someone else’s machine. If I have any period of time in which to do so.

I’ve been trying to cut the cord between me and this little old laptop. I can get more done when I leave it shut off, as I’ve mentioned. I can connect better to other people when I can focus both eyes in their direction. And the visits to the family are always so short anyway. No matter how much time we plan.

So I guess I’m thinking I’ll leave it home this time. Even though a laptop is so portable. And one of the reasons I got it was to bring it with me when I went places. But since I don’t have any work to do on it right now, and we’re only gone less than a week, there’s really no good reason to lug it around.

I’m going to try to get a few things washed and eaten before the boy wakes up. I know my posting has been less frequent lately, but I’m alright with that.

Leave a Reply

