Back to ‘Poo

So after several months using nothing but water with the occasional baking soda wash, apple cider vinegar rinse on my hair, I decided to go back to the good old-fashioned, non-hippie way of doing things. Today I washed my hair with shampoo and then conditioned with, you know, conditioner.

I gave the no-poo a good run, but ultimately, I just wasn’t happy with the way my hair was looking and feeling. I kept seeing flakes, and occasionally, it would get pretty greasy looking, at least to me. I’m not positive, but my head’s natural odor might not be the most pleasant, but it’s really hard to smell your own head. Also, there got to be all this gunk in my combs and brushes. I’m not sure what that’s all about, but I was a little sick of it. Now I need to give them a good cleaning. Maybe with a little baking soda or vinegar.

So I got out the bottles I’d bought before I started this little experiment and used them. And my hair feels lighter and thinner than it had been feeling, which I’m not sure is a good thing, but at least I think it looks better. To the casual observer, like my husband, it probably seems no different. In fact, he asked me the other day if I was still doing the baking soda/vinegar thing and mentioned that my hair didn’t look totally disgusting. Isn’t he romantic?

Anyway, I think the main culprit was our water here. When I was not shampooing in Wisconsin, my hair looked and felt totally awesome. So I guess if I ever live there again, maybe I’ll give it another go. But here in this place where the water is harder? softer? mineral-ier? it just didn’t work out. Oh well. Good thing vinegar and baking soda have so many other uses.

One thought on “Back to ‘Poo

  1. GT says:

    I was wondering how long it would take before you got sick of the whole vinigar thing, and back to the feel and smell of a good shampoo! I am thinking that it feels lighter and thinner cus you washed out all the baking soda build up! Good try though, natural salutions are alway the best—as long as they work as good!

Leave a Reply

