Ought Eight

Since I didn’t feel up to doing a year-in-review of my very own this year, here is a little meme I found at loraleeslooneytunes.com:

1. What did you do in 2007 that you’d never done before?

Conceived and gave birth to a healthy baby boy.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

Some. Let’s have a look.

  • I will only drink alcohol on special occasions, Edited 2/1/07 to read: I will drink “healthy,” meaning mostly red wine in limited quantities. Pretty much stopped drinking altogether after finding out I was pregnant. I am now the cheapest date ever, getting buzzed on half a glass of wine.
  • I will stop depending on caffeine to get me up in the morning, get me through class, a meeting, or anything else. Done. I quit cold turkey with James, but there was a brief period of first trimester exhaustion (and days of constipation) when if I didn’t have a cup of joe in the morning, I was done for.
  • I will eat more fruit. Yes. Pregnancy really helped with the whole healthy eating scene. Let’s see if it continues.
  • I will eat more vegetables. See above.
  • I will walk on a weekend afternoon and a week night. I walked more often than I had before, but still not regularly. But I’ve already started exercising to get back into my size tens, so hopefully the exercise thing will continue to go well.
  • I will get that second bedroom cleaned and decorated. We did it. Of course, we were expecting a new resident for that room, so that made a bit of difference.
  • I will double my income. If I had been any good at sales, this probably would have actually happened. As it stands, however, I have severely reduced my income, with hopes to bring it back to what it was in the coming year.
  • I will sell some artwork. Not yet, but the website is live and ready, and I’m planning to get even more proactive about this part real soon.
  • I will publish a poem. Nope. In fact, since I finished my thesis, the poetry part of life has fallen into significant disrepair.

A few resolutions for this year:

  • I will make my freelance work successful so I can continue to be at home with my boy.
  • I will meet some local moms and make new friends.
  • I will continue to exercise and eat healthy.
  • I will turn the television off when there’s nothing on.
  • I will create. Art. Poetry. Something.
  • I will keep the house clean.
  • I will reduce our debt.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Just me, but that’s about as close to me as you can get.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Fortunately, no one this year.

5. What countries did you visit?

None.

6. What would you like to have in 2008 that you lacked in 2007?

Local friends that will hang out with me on a regular basis. Money.

7.What dates from 2007 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

October 24th, my son’s birthday.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

I’ll have to say the boy again on this one.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Failure to pay off the credit card debt and save more.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Fortunately no.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

A trip to Florida in June with my sweetheart.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

James for his support through the whole pregnancy, birth and postpartum period.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

No one’s, really.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Bills and debt.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Baby!

16. What song will always remind you of 2007?

I wasn’t really attached to any music in 2007. And no one song really stands out at all.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:? a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?

Happier, fatter, and poorer.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Saving money and preparing for staying at home.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Watching television.

20. How did you spend Christmas?

With James and Michael. We had a roast for dinner. It was a nice day.

21. Did you fall in love in 2007?

Yes I did. I so completely did.

22. What was your favorite TV program?

Heroes.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Nope.

24. What was the best book you read?

Memoirs of Cleopatra by Margaret George.

25. What was your greatest musical discovery?

That I don’t like a lot of new/current music.

26. What did you want and get?

A healthy pregnancy, a drug-free birth, a healthy and happy baby, and a vacation with just my husband and me.

27. What did you want and not get?

The credit cards paid off.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

Superbad.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 29 on the 21st of December. We had no plans in advance. My husband surprised me by coming home from work early and making me a delicious shrimp scampi dinner.

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Being closer to family and friends.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2007?

More fashionable than ever, since the empire waist was so hot and I happened to have little other choice being pregnant and all. I also kept my hair short after about February or March.

32. What kept you sane?

My husband. My mom. My blog.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

I’m not really into the celebrity worship anymore.

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

I’m keeping my eyes on the interest rates because of the mortgage, but otherwise, I don’t really follow politics. Though I’m trying to follow the presidential stuff more.

35. Who did you miss?

My family. Distant friends.

36. Who was the best new person you met?

Is it horrible that no one really stands out? I really hope to meet more new people this year.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007.

The mind is really powerful. If you set your mind to something, I mean really commit, it can and will happen.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

“God only knows what I’d be without you.”

One thought on “Ought Eight

Leave a Reply

