Outgrown

Happy New Year!

As of this week, my boy has officially outgrown several of his 0-3 month outfits. He’s really getting huge. So I’ve started washing more and more of the 3-6 month clothes. They are all just as cute, and at least the sleeves cover his whole arms.

So here we are at the beginning of the year and the beginning of the never-ending cycle of packing up all the too-small clothes and trying to gauge which outfits still fit or have some growing room left in them. I’ve been meaning to do the same thing for my own drawers now that I’m officially out of maternity (packed away those clothes a couple weeks ago). But since I’m still not down to my pre-pregnancy svelteness, there are several articles in my closet and drawers that need to go, that quite frankly, will probably never fit me again. Clothes that I probably shouldn’t have still been wearing a year ago.

I feel kind of bad because we definitely had our favorite outfits for him, which meant that a few of those little bitty clothes didn’t really get a lot of wear out of them. Of course, I would feel even more wasteful and bad about it all if we had paid full retail price for the clothes. Instead, we didn’t actually buy any of the outfits ourselves because we have all these relatives and friends who love to buy cute little baby shirts and pants. And they were generous enough to buy them for our boy.

But you know this also means my baby is not a newborn anymore. He’s filling out. Getting plumper and longer. He’s starting to look less like a scrunchy old man and more like the Gerber commercials. Soon he’ll be sitting up, laughing, crawling, walking, driving. Time sure does fly.

One thought on “Outgrown

  1. Kat says:

    Aww. I saved all the cutest outfits, but then gave them all away when we moved. For 0 to 18 months, I had 6 paper shopping bags STUFFED with clothes – very little of it bought by me!

Leave a Reply

