New Life

As a new parent, I’ve been actively seeking out other local parents so that I can make new friends and know some people who are doing this, since at the moment, my only support is several hundred miles away. And sometimes, you just want to call someone up and say, “Hey, let’s get together,” without having to plan and save for weeks or months in advance.

Now, I know I’m not good with the whole calling thing, nor am I the most comfortable at initiating contact. And it’s also tough for me to walk into an established group of people and find a place to fit. But I’m trying to do better. I’m trying to connect because it’s not easy spending so much time with someone who can only communicate in cries and coos. Sometimes, James is at work, and I just want to hear someone’s voice. Sometimes that desire takes me to the grocery store, but other times it’s taken me to meetings of the La Leche League.

Which is how I came across another group of local moms, this one involving attachment parenting. Now, I still don’t really know much about attachment parenting as a philosophy or way of life, and I’ve never been to the AP group meetings, but this group of women is here, where I am, and they do some of the same things that we do as far as what we’re trying out with how we’re raising our son. So I figured, what the hell? Let’s see what happens if I reach out to them. So I did. I joined an email list and was graciously extended an invitation to their holiday potluck. A party.

I haven’t been to a party in awhile. Our friends don’t really have parties. They have keggers. It’s different. And we’re really not into that whole scene anymore. We’re not in college anymore, and we’re kind of glad that we’re not. We’ve gotten that kind of partying out of our systems, so those kinds of parties just aren’t our scene. Which is probably why we don’t really hear about many of them anymore until afterwards. But I digress. I like parties. I like an atmosphere where the presence of beer doesn’t necessitate ping-pong balls and an abundance of red plastic cups. Where people can talk and get to know each other without being interrupted to do a shot.

So tonight I went to a party. And I would taken baby M with me on my own if James had had to close tonight, which is brave of me. But he didn’t, so we all went together. And it was good. A little awkward, because that’s just how I roll, but good. I didn’t meet everyone, but I did have some good conversations with a few very nice people. And spent time with my husband outside of the house. And socialized. At a party.

But the thing about being a new parent and going to a party, and the inspiration for starting this post in the first place, is that we got home from this party at 8:00pm. Granted, we left fairly early, but we weren’t the first to leave. And you know what, it’s nice to be home early, to go to bed at a reasonable hour. Because it means a happy baby. And a happy mommy, too.

Leave a Reply

