O Tannenbaum

So we usually don’t do much, if anything, for Christmas for the same reason as we didn’t do anything on Thanksgiving this year. That reason being far away family and a hectic retail-driven schedule on my husband’s part. He either works on Christmas Eve or Christmas Day, which gives us one or the other to spend together as a family.

With a new baby in the house, I haven’t even had the chance to think about sending Christmas cards, let alone actually take the photo, get them printed, address and stamp all the envelopes and get them in the mail. However, I still want to do the holiday photo, so maybe an email card will be forthcoming for friends and loved ones, including additional folks who might not  even be in my address book for sending holiday tidings the old-fashioned way.

Needless to say (or is it?), I have not yet decorated our home for the holidays. And you know what? I wasn’t really planning to do it, either. Because isn’t it enough that I manage to bathe and feed myself and a newborn almost every day? And you know I’ve been really productive these last several weeks seeing as how we still all have clean shirts and underpants, not to mention clean plates from which to eat. Pants and cups, well, those are another story. Just kidding. I really think it’s amazing that I’ve managed to keep at least the kitchen in a near immaculate state of cleanliness (stop laughing, I’m serious) as well as do a load of laundry hear and there. So I’m going to go ahead and pat myself on the back for that.

Which is all to say that it takes a lot of my time and energy just to move through a normal day. In theory, I could make an attempt to put up some festive decorations, find a way to display the couple of cards we’ve gotten from loved ones, at least pull out our little, spinning fiber-optic tree. But in reality, that would take more effort than it might seem, and then? in January? at some point it will all have to come down and be put away. And I just can’t handle that kind of pressure hanging over my head for the next few weeks. At least not this year. We’ll see how I feel next December. I really would like to try it one of these years, especially since I’ve had similar excuses in previous years, too (i.e. “Is it Valentine’s Day already? Wow, I guess I really should put away the tree, huh.”).

However, it’s crossing my mind today that maybe I should make the effort here, since today we received another generous box of gaily wrapped gifts. Without a tree to sit under, they sadly wait in the boxes in which they were mailed, which frankly, isn’t very festive at all, even if I do have the Trans Siberian Orchestra caroling through the stereo speakers. So maybe I should pull out the tree, after all. It wouldn’t be much, meaning it might not be too oppressive. And maybe it’ll start feeling a little bit more like Christmas in this house, after all.

One thought on “O Tannenbaum

  1. Dana says:

    Bah let it slide this year. Next year do some stuff so you can see his face with all the lights and sparkly stuff. =D

Leave a Reply

