Lucky Me

The other day I was telling James about how good the body is at regulating itself, in that the early months of exclusively breastfeeding keeps the ovaries in hibernation and the menses at bay. This gives the uterus and all its cohorts a chance to rest before making another baby. And, frankly, I too was looking forward to a stretch of time without a monthly visitor and without being pregnant. As it happens, my body’s thinking it has other plans.

Not three weeks after the lochia finally subsides, I go and get a period. According to my midwife, this is the time when “oopses” happen. So I guess it’s not completely unheard of to be all fertile again in less than two months. James and I have yet to “reconvene the procedure,” since I still have a little healing left to do down there, but this just goes to show you can’t be too careful when it comes to taking proper precautions.

Leave a Reply

