Initial Reaction

This parenting thing isn’t just about going through the motions. The feeding, the changing, the rocking, the wearing, the bathing and clothing. I’m finding myself undeniably fascinated by this new little person in our house. I’m finding it hard to believe that he gets to stay.

I’m totally in love with him and part of me is feeling like any moment now he’s just going to vanish into thin air and we’ll be like, “What the hell was that?” and go on with our lives. But even though I know that’s not going to happen, that he is, in fact, here for good, I just want to be around him constantly, to savor him like a really good dream in case I’m about to wake up. Is that nuts?

So add this feeling of disbelief to the montage of emotions going around here in these early days of parenthood. There has been frustration, awe, love, exhaustion, sadness, anger, worry, bittersweetness, ecstasy, devotion, and so much more. It is proving to be quite the ride, but I’m grateful for every day I get to spend riding it.

One thought on “Initial Reaction

  1. Melissa says:

    Awe, this is really beautiful. I’m happy for you. 🙂 Congratulations on your beautiful new baby, and congrats on ALSO making it through NaBloPoMo WITH a new baby!

    I’m glad you like the Hiro badge 🙂 (I like it with the blue border!)

Leave a Reply

