Flat Cookies

Growing up, I loved helping Mom bake chocolate chip cookies from scratch. From the recipe on the back of the chocolate chip bag. And every time, Mom was always disappointed that the cookies would always come out flat, not all puffed up like the commercials show. But you know what? I loved them that way. They were always so chewy and moist and just the most unique and best cookies I knew as a kid.

And as luck would have it, whenever I tried making the exact same recipe out on my own, I always got these perfect batches of puffy cookies (when I didn’t burn them, of course), and being away from home so long, all I really wanted was the cookies the way Mom used to make. So what went wrong (or right) with my cookies?

Well, today Mom made some homemade chocolate chip cookies from the recipe on the back of the bag, and for the first time in her life, they came out puffier than we expected. So she made some calculations and solved some complex equations and concluded that it might have had something to do with the amount of flour in the dough. In other words, when I made the very same cookies, I must have actually followed the recipe, whereas Mom’s cookies ended up with just a little less flour as a result of the way she scooped the flour.

So, in a couple days when all these puffy perfect cookies are gobbled down, we’re going to make another attempt to achieve the flat and chewy goodness from among my fondest memories.

Leave a Reply

