Trial Run

James is back at work today. Probably all day, including all night. So I’ve got a practice day just me and the kid before my mom arrives tomorrow to help us out awhile.

So far, I suppose it’s going alright, although it might have been a good idea to bathe before my husband left this morning. I’ve made a mental note to do just that once I’m on my own again.

Over the past couple weeks, we’ve kept up our somewhat excessive television habits, and on occasion, we’ve noticed our baby son getting a little annoyed with life in general after the thing’s been on awhile. So today, I’ve kept the TV off just to see what it would be like without that particular distraction. Let me tell you, I’ve managed to do more today than I have in the weeks when there was another pair of hands around to help. Of course, that’s probably why I didn’t get more done in those days, because I had someone there to do things for me, but it’s a good thing that I’m adapting well to my new life at home. It’s not perfect, I mean, I didn’t scrub any floors or wash any windows or anything, but it’s going to be fine.

Of course, I might have been too ambitious already. I’ve committed myself to a writing project this week, the first since becoming a mom, and I hope that I can get back into that game with relative ease. When the baby sleeps and I can’t, that should be a good time to devote to the paying gig. I’m afraid that today, though, my enthusiasm has gotten the better of me and now it’s time for me to sleep at least a few minutes before the baby wakes again.

Leave a Reply

