Around the House

It’s kind of tough to come up with something new to write every day when we are spending every day just being around the house. We went for a walk today, though, which is good for me, but I think the weather might be getting a little too cool to bring the newborn along, however well we bundle him up.

I’m excited for tomorrow, though. And I don’t want to write too much about it today because then what will I have to write about tomorrow? I will say, however, that even though it means I’ll have to rouse myself earlier than the baby, I’m glad to have the opportunity to get myself out of the house and talk to some folks that I haven’t seen in a couple of weeks. I get to say hello and show off my new little sidekick. I feel bad that his face has broken out with infant acne, since aside from the red blotches, he’s so damn handsome, but I think his good looks will shine through anyway.

I’m kind of sad that this is James’ last week off of work, because even though my mom will be here next week to help with stuff, I really like having my husband around. With Michael pretty much attached to my chest all day, unfortunately, James doesn’t get a lot of father-son time, but I know that he also just likes being around us, even if we’re all doing our own thing, like Michael sleeping, me blogging, him playing a video game. I like being able to ask him to refill my water cup, get me a snack, or just look over at him, tell him I love him, and just share the gladness of being a family together.

I’m feeling good, hence the syrupy sentiments, and I’m looking forward to seeing what’s in store for all three of us in the coming months. There is a lot to think about, but we are trying to take it one day at a time. These days are so precious to me, and I just want to savor every moment.

Leave a Reply

