Magic

I am never using Drano again. Or any other commercial clog remover. Ever. Because I found something better. Baking soda. Baking soda and vinegar and a good old fashioned plunger.

For some time now, we’ve literally been pouring money down the drain trying to rid our tub of its clog. The more I look at our budget and spending, the more I try to find places to trim. And along similar lines, the more I look into cloth diapering and washing the fabric that will be right up against some pretty sensitive skin soon, the more I think about cleaning agents and chemicals other than laundry detergent. And every time that James’ allergies emerge in one form or another, the more I wonder what can be done to prevent such reactions in our kids or what we can do around here to help improve his current health.

I’m trying to get comfortable with asking questions. With reading the fine print. With weighing options. It’s all related. Switching to natural, and economical, cleaning agents like baking soda and vinegar. Making more attempts to cook from scratch, or at the very least, at home. Researching medical conditions, trying to read between the lines of hospital and pediatric policies and standard procedures. And questioning. Not rejecting outright, but weighing risks and benefits, and making choices that seem right. Finding people to talk to and to trust. It’s not easy. But then again, I never expected it to be easy. But at least I’m trying to be prepared.

I press my palm against the side of my stomach. Just below my right breast. There’s usually a foot there, pressing back. And sometimes I wonder if I will ever be as confident in the safety and comfort of my child as I am right now.

There are no magic solutions for every one of my concerns. Because the more I find myself questioning one thing, the more I think about questioning everything else. But for now, at least the magic combination of baking soda and vinegar has solved one of our dilemmas. Cross that one off the list.

Leave a Reply

