Feint

As soon as that line appears, we girls tend to run to a book or a website that will tell us everything we need to know about what’s happening inside our bodies. The books tell us what to eat, what not to eat, and for as much useful information they provide, they also offer up scads of dangerous possibilities.

Very early on, we’re told not to sleep on our backs anymore. We’re supposed to get used to lying on our sides. Particularly our left sides. Now, I guess there’s something magical about the left side, but personally, I’m fairly comfortable on either. And for quite some time, I was fine on my back, too.

Yesterday, in a tiny dark room with a cot and a monitor, I was on my back and fine. For a little while. But I found myself feeling a little bit dizzy. It came on gradually, and before I really knew what was going on, I felt like I was going to black out. Fortunately, the technician noticed and sat me up. I had a few sips of water and immediately felt better. She then set the cot so that I was lying at an incline, and we continued with our ultrasound.

It was so strange. I can’t remember another time when I felt that close to seriously feinting. This isn’t just another one of those sections in the book that seem only to be there to scare the pants off of already paranoid pregnant ladies. There really is a part of you that gets squeezed and squashed when you lie flat with a few extra pounds occupying your womb. And it’s not fun.

But you know what is fun? When the ultrasound technician sees the baby hiccup as you feel it. When you can read your baby’s mood by the way it reacts to the stimulation from the ultrasound machine. Because it pushes back. The tech spoke as though baby was playing a kind of game, but I think that baby just didn’t like what was going on, and wanted the wand to go away. It kicked and pushed against that wand so hard it almost hurt me. So it was fine by me that we didn’t linger too long to gape after all the measurements and photos had been taken. Because I want my baby to be comfortable and happy. And I guess for now that means giving baby some privacy for awhile.

Today I went in for a non-stress test. This is a test where they strap a couple monitors across your belly to record your heartbeat and baby’s, its movement and stick your arm in a cuff that automatically takes your blood pressure every fifteen minutes. They give you a little hand held device like a game show buzzer to press every time you feel the baby move. You sit in a reclining chair surrounded and supported by pillows and covered with a soft sheet and leave you alone.

I listened to some music and read a little bit of a magazine and all the while, I could hear the little heart beating steady in the background. The fun part of the test today was when baby bumped against the monitor with a loud thunk. And later, I was getting a little hungry, but not too much. But even though my stomach wasn’t rumbling audibly to me, I could hear it low under the steady little heartbeat. Probably how it sounds to baby when I get hungry. It was pretty neat.

And my blood pressure? The greatest it’s ever been. Four or so readings and all in the 110s/60s. I rule all. And baby rocks pretty hard, too.

Leave a Reply

