Don’t Think. Just Fast.

I should be good for the rest of the night. I’m not watching television. Okay. So I’m trying not to watch television. Because the commercials on television? Well, half of them are trying to tempt me with some new flavor sensation. And now that the big, fat Chipotle burrito has been consumed, there will be no more chewing, swallowing, digesting for me until sometime tomorrow. Hopefully the A.M.

As much as I don’t want to obsess about food, or the 15-hour lack thereof (a 12-hour fast preceding a three-hour test period), I really can’t help but obsess. Because they’re trying to catch even the mildest case of gestational diabetes, a lot of gals end up with false positives on the first screening, like me, and have to go through this fasting, this three-hour test. And you know what I think of making a pregnant woman NOT EAT for 15 hours (or more depending on how quick they get to me when I get to the lab)? Frankly, I think it is downright cruel.

Yes, I realize that it is necessary in order to complete a definitive diagnosis, but that doesn’t mean that it’s something I want to go through. As someone who is used to eating every three hours or so, even before becoming pregnant, asking me to consume nothing but water for this length of time just seems so unfair. And now that I’m pregnant? Well, don’t make me hungry. You wouldn’t like me when I’m hungry.

Fortunately, I have a blog in which to vent my frustrations in what I hope is a mildly amusing manner. I’m really just trying to get the complaining out of my system early so I can shift focus and distract myself with something else. I got some new software recently, so I’m going to go and play with that for a bit now. Until I get hungry, and then I will distract myself with sleep until tomorrow morning. At least I’ll get some highly concentrated sugar water for breakfast. Yum.

One thought on “Don’t Think. Just Fast.

  1. Shari says:

    I suggest getting the new Sim City and playing that today. One of the other bloggers I read regularly told the story of how she unexpectantly spent upwards of 10 hours playing Sim City (until 9 in the morning) and how she thought it had only been a few hours: no bathroom breaks, food or sleep needed. Just get your lappy out, cover all the clocks and build, build, build!

Leave a Reply

