Shifting Gears

I am starting to get really excited. In my off hours, I have been dedicating some serious time to developing my new potential career.

I am proud of myself for this. Copy-writing, design and fine art are things that I am good at. I am comfortable on this road. I feel free, though I am still not quite where I’d like to be.

I have been developing a web page for my mom’s business. It’s finally coming together and should be published on-line sometime within the next couple days. I have been revamping my own professional web page, finally including the ability to purchase prints of my work. I have been meaning to do this for so long, and finally just had to do it. I still need to secure a hosting account for the site, and there are definitely a few incomplete pages, but I’m more enthused about this development than I’ve been about any other “work” for a long time. I hope I have it in me to see it through to completion.

I haven’t had as many writing jobs as I would like, but it’s possible that’s a good thing, since it has allowed me to finish Mom’s site and make some real progress with my own. My recent partnership with a small marketing business still seems promising, and I am confident that my services will be valued and appreciated. I will also be learning more on the design end of things in the very near future.

I have been making the attempt to slack less at my office job, and I’m still struggling with the major decision of whether or not I will return after having this baby. It’s a difficult decision, and the money factor is still uncertain, so I really can’t even guess what will happen, though I will probably have to decide soon.

Overall, though, things are bright and sunny on the work front. I am feeling good about the choices that I have made and the path I am currently on. I don’t know what the future will bring, but for now, I’m okay with that.

Leave a Reply

