Or China Maybe

Oddly, this has felt like one of my most productive weeks at the office. I say oddly because I’ve only actually been in the office two full days of four so far this week. But. I have dialed the phone and taken initiative. This is progress. If I can do this sort of unhesitating dialing of the phone at my day job, let’s just consider for a moment the possibility that I might be able to dial some phones outside of that particular workplace. Kind of gives you chills, doesn’t it? Okay, well, that’s fine if it’s just me.

I have a potential three new (paid) projects on the horizon. This is good because the credit card bills are sitting here in front of me, and I am sick of looking at their four-figure balances. If I get going with enough of these side jobs, it’s even possible that we will have all consumer debt down to zero by baby time. I’m pretty sure that I will be able to do what I’m setting out before me. So I think that we’ll be more in control than we thought we’d be just a couple of months ago.

There’s something about sparks lighting up a dark sky. Something about the fourth of July. For the last several years, it’s been just another day. But yesterday we got to spend some time with some good friends, good food and a few of our own small-scale pyrotechnics. We managed to scare the dogs pretty good. And no one lost any fingers. We used the magic talking box to see some of the big celebrations without having to sit on the Metro for four hours, and we came to the conclusion that New York really has DC beat when it comes to putting on a patriotic show.

James is still looking for a new job, but he’s actually feeling better where he is. I’m not sure what’s been changing lately, though he tells me, I’m not there. He is still rather desperate to get out of retail, so he’s exploring as many options as he can. I’ve mentioned that he wants to travel and work for the government. I’ve probably also mentioned how living in foreign lands really isn’t my thing. My head knows that the experience will be worthwhile, but I tend to be the most comfortable in a setting that I know. With at least a few good friends or family members near enough to see on a semi-regular basis. I don’t know about China. James told me tonight that 16 of the top 20 most polluted cities are in that country. In some places on certain days, you have to wear a mask to go outside. Maybe everyone else already knows this about China. I didn’t know this. And if we ever happen to end up there, I’m not sure how I will feel. For now, though, I am glad that we have a home here. That things are going well. That any major changes are still a ways off.

Well, there is one major change getting closer every day. I think about it all the time. But the more I think about it, the less afraid I am. I’m sure that’s why God or Nature gives us nine months to be pregnant. It’s a big idea to get used to, a whole new person. A dependent little being that’s a little bit of me and a little bit of him. We’ll probably go back to the baby store on Sunday, maybe start picking out some specific things to acquire. We’ve signed up for our birth class. We haven’t come up with any new names. But we did recently get ourselves a membership to Costco, which means our freezer is stocked up with meat and veggies and I am eating big red strawberries by the pound. I never thought I’d be in a bulk-buying family. Not sure why, though, since I’ve always been a bargain hunter. And you really can’t argue with that kind of savings.

Mom’s new website should be up and running soon. So should mine. Is there anything else on my mind tonight? Just that James is in the other room playing a baseball game that keeps freezing his PlayStation 2, and if I had the means, I would run right out and buy him the 3 just because I love him that much. I just feel better when he’s around. And I suppose that even China would be nice enough with him there with me.

Leave a Reply

