Cavity

I floss. Most mornings, it is part of the routine. There might be a morning here or there when I forget. But I floss regularly enough that my gums don’t bleed and things seem clean enough. But these teeth, they must be weak. Because this morning, as I flossed in front of the mirror, I noticed a distinct darkness on the side of the very last molar. A cavity.

It doesn’t hurt. Yet. But knowing that it’s there makes me uncomfortable. Makes me call the dentist after a long hiatus. And I know full well that I shouldn’t go several whole years without a checkup. I know. But when you are a procrastinator by nature and the type of girl who would rather put her legs up in stirrups to get poked and prodded in the lady parts than open wide to get poked and prodded in the mouth, shit happens. Or doesn’t, as it were.

So it’s time to suck it up and make a dentist appointment. And add another thing to my goals for future self improvement. Because I want to be a good example. I want to take care of myself, my body and all its components so that I am around for a good long time, and in a condition to enjoy this anticipated long life. So I will go to the dentist willingly, and try not to complain. And I will make an effort to return to the dentist on a regular basis. So that these black holes in my teeth might be prevented before they need to be filled. And so my kids know that health and hygiene are important, not just for the young ones, but for us all.

Leave a Reply

