Where Are They Now?

Someone please tell me what has happened to my favorite Easter sweet. In the marketing period leading up to the holiday, we had a couple of Cadbury Creme Eggs, I saw mountains of jelly beans in all varieties lining the aisles of the grocery store, and there was no scarcity of chocolate bunnies or marshmallow Peeps. All of these items, of course, go on sale on Easter Sunday, and after they’re gone, we await their appearance next year.

But one of the things I had been looking for ever since the first pastel invasion has been the chocolate covered whipped cream eggs. These are hands down the BEST Easter sweets ever invented, but alas, they are nowhere. Not in the sweets bins by the check out lines, not in the piles of red-tagged clearance candy, nowhere. And I miss them.

It seems that there are also some people out there in the world who have never known the joy of the whipped cream egg. I feel bad if your only sweet Easter pleasure is the food-colored yolk in the middle of a Cadbury Creme Egg. Because as happy an experience as that may be, a whipped cream egg is about twenty times as good as that.

Last year, our local grocer even had some raspberry flavored whipped cream eggs in stock. And wow. That was awesome.

But where did they go? I wondered if this was maybe a Midwest thing, since I grew up loving these eggs, but since we found them here in Virginia the last couple of years, I thought probably not. And all I can find on-line when I search is recipes for a variety of completely unrelated desserts (and one place that has discontinued the item).

So what happened? Who took away my whipped cream eggs? And won’t someone please bring them back?

I may just have to wait until next year and order the originals on-line from here. I wonder if they make whipped cream filled chocolate confections for any holidays that might be coming up sooner. I don’t know if I can wait a whole year.

Leave a Reply

