Saramercial

Where have I been, you ask? Well, many places.

Working hard on the Thesis project. The awesome news with that is that I actually seem to have too many poems right now. The reason that this is awesome is because cutting things out is a hell of a lot easier than scrambling at the last minute to fill a lack.

Class/Reading on Tuesday night. I got to hang out with some great folks and even got home early enough to see James for a couple hours before bed time.

Working. I’m entering into a realm of necessity when it comes to budgeting my time. The Chamber is pretty quiet right now, which can be both good and bad for yours truly. See, I do better with work stuff when there is a lot to do and little time to do it in. If I’m not pressured, sometimes things take longer to get done than they should. Same goes for the other job. I know I need to work on this, and I’m honestly trying to put in the effort, but I also need to accept that this is an actual flaw in my own nature, which I may or may not be able to overcome.

Thinking about my mother-in-law. Today she finally had her long-awaited hip replacement surgery, and the operation was a success. I can’t appropriately describe the kind of pain she was in, but if even the doctors couldn’t understand how she was still able to walk around at all, you got to imagine that it was pretty horrible. And all she was taking was Tylenol. My mother-in-law is one tough lady, and you have to respect that. But even tough girls got to give in some time, and now that she has herself a brand new shiny hip, I think that a lot of people’s lives are going to be much easier.

Eating breakfast at home in the morning. Lately, I’ve gotten a little bit sick and tired of my whole grain bagel with natural peanut butter every morning. This was routine. I make the bagel as I’m halfway out the door and eat it in the car on the way to work. And while I still appreciate the mechanics of the bagel making and commuter eating, I’ve grown to dislike the breakfast meal itself. But, you see, I can’t just skip breakfast. My morning vitamin makes that quite impossible. And for that same reason, I can’t wait a half hour to 45 minutes to eat when I get to work after commuting. So, I bought some cereal.

The other morning, James and I were going through our respective morning rituals, when I looked at the clock and noticed that I did, in fact, have a few moments for a little bite to eat. So I poured a small bowl of cereal and stood in the kitchen eating it with him as he made his sandwich for lunch. As I went to rinse my bowl in the sink, noticing again that we were actually ahead of schedule that morning, I said, “It’s nice when there’s time for a bite to eat in the morning.” And he laughed at me. Not so much for what I said, he told me, but rather for the way I said it, like I was talking in a commercial voice-over or something. Like, “It’s nice when there’s time for a bite to eat in the morning, and when there is, I like my bite to be Total.” Or whatever breakfast food might be in the spotlight on that given day.

I don’t know why it amused me so much that he thinks I sometimes talk like I’m in commercials. Maybe because it’s not a conscious effort. Sometimes when we say positive things, they don’t sound genuine because we’ve been jaded somehow by the images and bits of speech that we are exposed to on a daily basis. Whatever it is, I’m glad that my husband still finds me amusing. I hope that means he’ll keep me around for awhile.

Leave a Reply

