My Name is Sara and I’m a Nerd.

So after going for a walk, helping James clean the blood off his heal from where he stabbed his foot on the couch, and eating a delicious soy ginger marinated salmon fillet with steamed green beans, I actually did work on my thesis. As much as I didn’t really feel like doing it.

I have most of the poetry written and mostly done. A few minor revisions are still necessary, but right now, I’m trying to look more at the big picture. So I worked last night on dividing up my book into several sections. In my opinion it’s easier to deal with 15 poems at a time than to deal with 60, so that’s what I’m trying to do.

But the thing is, I needed to name the sections. And since I don’t know what kind of order they’re going to appear, I needed to call the sections something unrelated to my current impression of the manuscript, because I know that’s going to change, and I’ll probably title the sections as the last thing I do before deciding on a final title for the whole. So, because I don’t know the order yet, I didn’t want to just use generic section dedications like “A,” “B,” “C,” “D,” (alphabetical) or “I,” “II,” “III,” “IV,” (numerical), since those imply an order, even if the intention is not to leave the sections in that order.

When I told James how I ended up with the temporary names for my four sections, he laughed and pointed and called me a nerd. And though I didn’t name them after really nerdy things like Lord of the Rings or Star Wars, I guess calling them Venture, Samson, Monarch, and Orpheus must still put me pretty high on the nerd-o-meter. Oh well. It helps me, it has no implied order, and no relation whatsoever to the themes in my writing, so I’m happy with the nerd. I embrace it. And even if my temporary titles only amuse one person (me), I’m okay with that.

One thought on “My Name is Sara and I’m a Nerd.

  1. Jenn says:

    The funny thing is? You mentioned nice salmon and literary pursuits and I was instantly scanning to see if there was a small child about to barf up the nice salmon on your thesis…and NO! Lucky dog! I think you are officially exotic to me! Exotic AND you have good hair!

    Kick ass on that thesis.

Leave a Reply

