Hungry, Have to Pee

I am lucky not to be barfing everywhere. I am lucky to be able to eat when I am hungry. Although I have had the occasional food aversion, for the most part, I can eat whatever is available. But eating like a hobbit has its drawbacks, too.

For one thing, it’s not easy to plan for constant hunger. Food gets boring very quickly. It’s good to have a large bag of chips or crackers around for those emergency situations where you need something in your stomach right that minute and not a second later, but snacking on the same thing all day is almost enough for me to start feeling like maybe I’m not completely avoiding the “morning sickness” nausea, after all.

Also, I have to pee. A lot. I blame it on the baby, of course, but I think that in reality it might have more to do with my water intake than any uterine activities at this point. Nothing’s very big in there yet, but the midwife said I should be drinking at least a gallon of water a day (I probably drink more than that because I’m always thirsty). I don’t know. You do the math.

Other than that, I still find it hard to believe that I’m actually pregnant at all. James and I keep joking about it and interjecting statements of fact about it into conversation and banter, but I think we do that because the concept is still so foreign in our minds. We’re still adjusting. But maybe we never will adjust to this. These new roles of ours as potential parents, then as actual ones.

I guess we’ll do our best. We’ll love and laugh as much as possible and just keep praying for a good life for all of us.

Leave a Reply

