The Day the Music Died

This afternoon, I was mad. I listen to Pandora at work. It is awesome and allows me to listen to good music that I can also actually control without having to keep a bunch of cd’s on hand or a conscious eye on a playlist or something stored on the computer. I love Pandora. It is the best. I have three regular stations, all of varying levels of intensity, from Frank Sinatra to Rammstein and everything in between. I also have a Christmas station for the holiday cheer (any time of year). Pandora keeps me sane while I sit at my desk.

Well, we had one of our computer guys come in to help us make our computers run faster. He cleaned up a lot of old files and programs from the hard drive, got rid of spy-ware, ad-ware and what have you, and then checked up on the Internet speed. Now, we have DSL in the office, and I’ve never heard or had any complaints, but he told us that because I listen to Internet radio, the Internet runs slower than it should. And that sucks for me because now I might not be able to listen to Pandora at my desk.

My other options are either to bring cd’s to work every day and listen to one cd and either have it repeat all day or have to change it every hour or so, or get myself a small radio so I have some background sound. I don’t do the whole silent office thing. It makes slow days even slower. But you know why I don’t want to get a radio? One thing is I don’t want to have to go out and buy a radio. The other thing is that all the music on regular radio pretty much sucks. And even if there is ever anything that’s at all tolerable, it lasts the three minute song-length and that’s it. Then it’s back to commercials and crap. And even though I’ve never really tried NPR and have nothing against talk radio, I’m really much more of a music person. I don’t have to think a lot about music. Talk radio usually requires a distracting amount of brain energy, which can be rough on someone so easily distract-able as me.

So, I don’t know if the ban on internet radio is going to really stick, since my boss is a very considerate person, but if she really does feel like my Pandorais significantly detracting from her Internet capacity, I will give it up. I will miss it, but I will deal. And if I have to listen to crap radio or bog my desk drawer down with a few favorite cd’s, so be it.

Leave a Reply

