From the Gut

I knew that I was pregnant pretty much the moment it happened, so I wasn’t surprised when the test showed a plus. And there have been other things in this life that I seem to know inherently. Things that don’t surprise me when they happen because something in me knew what to expect. In other words, my gut often serves me well. I am intuitive, and for the most part, I have been able to trust my instincts.

Because of this, I have decided to continue to trust my gut about this pregnancy.

I was waiting to tell the world, and waiting. Waiting for what? I don’t know. I honestly don’t feel like anything bad is going to happen, even though I do consider the possibility of miscarriage. I think about it, and yes, I fear it. When I first spoke with my mother-in-law about this baby, though, including my concern, she said, “It’s going to be fine.” And when she said that to me, I got one of those gut feelings. And my gut believed her words to the letter. I’m thinking it’s really going to be fine. I’m thinking I can trust that.

So, even though I am still waiting to reveal this news on the blogosphere, I feel okay telling more people with each passing day. And I feel okay with our parents telling more people, which they have been dying to do since we broke the happy news. I am excited, and it will be good to share the excitement. Also, if something really does surprise me by going wrong, I know that anyone sharing this excitement of ours will be part of the support structure available for us to draw strength from in grief.

Leave a Reply

