Having Snicker Domes

It is Wednesday night at 11:15pm. HUSBAND is snug under the afghan on the green couch enjoying a rerun of Futurama. WIFE enters through the front door.

H: Hi, honey, how was your day?

W: My day was awesome! Did you get the email I sent you?

H: No, I didn’t get a chance to come home in the afternoon, so I didn’t check it today.

W: I didn’t think you would, so I also wrote that I didn’t think you would read it before I told you what I wrote in it anyway.

H: What did you write?

W: I did some networking for you and looked at that website we’ve been talking about. [She rambles on for several minutes about a company with an amusing name, various potential carreer building opportunities including a gala, job fair, and other such events and organizations.]

H: How was the seminar tonight?

W: It was really good. I’m sorry I’m so late getting home, though. I had dessert with J. afterwards.

H: [exaggerated eyebrow raise] Dessert, eh?

W: Yes. I was out with another man having a Snicker Dome.

H: Is that what the kids are calling it these days.

W: Yup, it was good, and there were peanuts. I betrayed you by eating a nutty dessert with someone else! What are you going to do about it?

H: [Resumes watching Futurama from the point where he had paused it.]

End Scene.

Leave a Reply

