Just Stop Talking

I found another reason why I tend to avoid my phone duties. I don’t seem to know when to stop talking. On three separate phone calls this week, I noticed that I had said the same thing several more times than necessary, as if the person on the other end of the line needed me to repeat myself, when they clearly just wanted to get off the phone and for me to just stop talking.

This is why I usually like to have a script when I make a call. Maybe that’s too revealing, but I like to have a clear idea of what needs to be accomplished in a phone conversation (or message) before I dial those numbers. If I have a script in front of me, I might not always follow it to the word, but at least it’s there for reference, so I don’t end up repeating myself. I can move forward to the end of the call. To a conversation’s natural conclusion, which actually comes easily when I’m no longer nervous about the whole thing.

And I don’t know why I get nervous about the phone in the first place. Maybe I’m just out of practice. Maybe the whole social thing goes against my nature, which is kind of funny if you know me. When I’m comfortable, some might say I can be a little too much myself. But when I’m doing something new or uncomfortable, being social and being myself isn’t always that easy. So I have things to work on. We all do.

Leave a Reply

