Converted

Remember how I said that I didn’t like libraries? Well, since we’ve been seriously trying to save the money so we can afford to buy the home of our temporary dreams, I have slowly come to adore the library. I found a small library that is not too far from where I work, and I go there every couple weeks. I started going there because there were a lot of books that I needed to finish up my Rapunzel project for my Folklore class, and I went back to get books for my poetry exam, and I went back again to get some novels to read on the plane and in the car on vacation. And I went back again to get some “how to survive as an artist” books and mortgage guides. Of course, all the mortgage guides were checked out for the moment, but they’ll be back eventually. And I still always have the book loan program at the store to fall back on, if I need it. But the thing that’s great about the library is that you can renew everything online now. Back in the day, you’d have to go there on a very regular basis to tell the librarian that you wanted to keep your books, or bring them back with you only to have them scanned out to you again. I don’t remember how it worked exactly, only that there were always fines to pay and the visits never seemed to get timed right.

I did have to pay a fine today. But when you think about it, compared to $16 or more to buy a paperback book you’ll only read once, $4.40 for a whole stack of books that you won’t have to pack in a box when you move is a really good deal.

I still don’t know if I’ll ever sit and study at a library other than the one on campus, but I do enjoy the convenience of the online catalog searches, the online account management, even online shelf browsing. So I can walk in there, and know exactly where to go to get what I need. Or at least something close enough. I don’t know why I ever doubted the library, but rest assured, I will never doubt again.

Leave a Reply

