Bad News and Bad News

Last week was not a very good week for people that I know. James hurt himself. That was bad. But Sunday I found out that on Tuesday my mom fell off of a ladder at work and broke two of her fingers on her right hand, in addition to the bangs and bruises on other parts of her body from the fall. As an aside, I’d just like to ask what the deal is with parents who have something happen to them that’s kind of a BIG DEAL but don’t tell their children until days later? Notice, Mom fell on Tuesday and I didn’t hear about it until Sunday. My mother-in-law’s last heart attack happened on a Thursday and we didn’t find out until that Saturday. Maybe I shouldn’t talk. It’s not like I called my mom from the emergency waiting room on Wednesday, myself. If it would have turned out serious, though, like a dislocated shoulder or broken bone, you can bet your ass that our parents would have heard about it the next morning, at the very latest.

But where was I? Oh yeah, more bad news. James’ uncle has tumors on his lungs and heart. According to my father-in-law, this uncle has been pretty depressed, which is such a shame because he’s the most jolly person we know. And the other bad news is that my friend who is moving cross-country this week got in a car accident with her fiance’s SUV. Fortunately no one was hurt, including the people in the other car(s), but she was pretty emotional. As one would expect.

All this bad news has got me wondering about karma. I like to think that my family, friends and I live pretty good lives, and that everything has a reason. It’s tough to see all this stuff happen and not know where it’s coming from or why. It kind of makes me hope that all of this means that good things around the corner. But who can be sure? I thought that we were all due for some good news soon, and then instead, we’re bombarded with injury and illness, which doesn’t include friends who are looking for jobs, looking for places to live, something to do instead of graduate school or other such plans. I don’t know what to think.

But you know, I’m an optimist. We have a meeting with our realtor on Friday, and this is an opportunity for either another addition to the list of bad news, or a change of direction, good news that will tell us we can afford more house than we think. That we’ll be able to get a townhouse by the time our lease is up. That I won’t necessarily have to beg my boss to turn my job into a full-time position.

I still have a lot of work to do for school, but the school part of things is not so tough with only a few more weeks of class. I’m focusing on final projects, trying not to save it all for the last minute, and doing okay with it so far. I just hope that we get some good news soon. Even if that good news has to wait for July when we find out that James passed his Foreign Service exam.

So, if you have any good news to share, please feel free to let me know in an email or a comment. Things aren’t all bad over here, don’t get me wrong, we are still very blessed in the grand scheme, but it would be nice to know that other people that I know and love aren’t suffering the same bombardment of bad news that we are.

Leave a Reply

