Restless

On Wednesday night, I had dinner with Natasha and we came back to my place to watch some South Park. At around 9:30, I got a call from James, who was working at the store. He had been having some pain in his left shoulder and arm earlier in the day, and he called to say how it had grown steadily worse as the evening progressed. So, at 11:00, Natasha drove me up to the store, and I drove James over to the emergency room.

Everything is fine. Nothing’s broken, dislocated or diseased. But you know before you go there that the emergency room is never going to be a quick trip. We were fortunate in that we left in about two hours. We stopped at the store to pick up some Motrin, and he stayed home from work on Thursday and Friday so as not to make anything worse before his test.

Yes, he took his test this morning. He feels pretty good about it, said it felt easy, although he wasn’t sure if that was a good or a bad thing. He’s glad it’s over, now, and kind of annoyed that we won’t know the results until July. Honestly, last night and this morning, I was probably more nervous about my husband’s test than he was. He went to bed around 10:30 and didn’t wake up until his alarm went off at six. I, on the other hand, was up until almost 1am and could hardly fall back to sleep when he decided not to shower this morning (since he’d showered later in the day yesterday), and sleep for an extra half hour, instead. And since part of me never trusts his ability to reprogram an alarm clock when he’s half-asleep in the wee hours of the day, I couldn’t let myself sleep deeply enough to miss his proper waking hour. I didn’t want him to be rushed and frazzled, so I made my self comfortable, but the brain did not power down.

So, again, I feel like I should probably be sleeping more than I am. The problem is, if I nap even a little bit in the afternoon, I won’t sleep when bedtime comes. I’ve cut coffee, because I thought that might be what’s going on. I think I just need to relax. But with the end of the semester approaching at a steadily increasing gallop, relaxation just isn’t on the agenda. I’ve got the two final projects for my two classes, and I’ve also got to keep up the exam reading, so that my exam might be able to get written before the semester actually ends.

May will be a good month, though. I’ll probably be done with everything in the first week, and then be able to pick up the exam reading and focus on it alone until my summer class starts in June. And we’re also still trying to figure out how to buy a house. You’d be restless, too.

Leave a Reply

