Spring?

There’s something freeing about leaving the house without wearing a coat. It doesn’t matter how long the cold weather has lasted, really. I know that I’m lucky here in Virginia to have mild winters. Winters where every driver on the road freaks out over the slightest appearance of snow. Even though it does still snow. Every year. We’re not that far south.

Of course, I have a sinking suspicion that I am once again on the edge of illness. This has been happening to me all winter long. And yet, I have neither missed a single class nor a single day of work. The signs today are: a dryness in my throat, which causes me to drink so much water that I have to pee every twenty minutes; a feeling of exhaustion, causing me to take a two-hour nap this afternoon that left me feeling tired and disoriented; the inability to organize my thoughts or my schoolwork; dreaming of heaven and the birth of someone else’s baby.

Okay, so that last one probably isn’t really a sign of illness. I regularly have pretty odd dreams, so even though I don’t think I’ve dreamed of heaven before, it’s probably really not all that out of the ordinary of a thing for my sleeping head to do. The lack of organization that I feel with regards to my classes this week I think has something to do with the fact that I finished both assignments early. I don’t do that very often, but I kind of like how relaxing it is not to have to be typing and printing and putting my shoes on to run right out the door at the last minute. Not that I would ever wait until the very last minute like that. I’ve just, you know, heard about how stressful it can be to procrastinate so much. That’s why I don’t do that.

So after my nap this afternoon, I got my school things together, feeling like there was something I needed to do at school today, and left the house at about 5:30. When I pulled into a really good parking space on campus at 6:00, I checked the time and said to myself, “Self, what the hell are you doing here so early?” My class is not until 7:20, and I know I needed to buy a book and maybe get something to eat, but I also know that I am too tired to go for my usual pre-class library reading time today, so since I was feeling particularly verbose on the matter of the weather this afternoon and since I had some time to kill, here I am, blogging.

We are getting ready for softball, James and I. We might play on Sunday. I’m afraid that I’ll be sick. And even if I’m not sick, I’m afraid I’ll be out of shape. I need some motivation, here. I did well with the exercising last year because I was moving toward the goal of the wedding photos, looking fantastic in a dress I’d only get to wear that one time. This year, I don’t know. I’m not eating as well as I used to. I’m not exercising very often, although every once and awhile I do get down on the floor for those pilates. Even the self disgust I occasionally feel when I catch the rolls around my waist in the mirror has not been enough to counteract my own laziness lately. This week, I blame my uterus. This weekend, I’ll probably blame my white cell count. I’m hoping the softball league helps with the motivation. And if James starts going to the gym to lift weights like he says he will, then that will probably help, too. And, so will the weather. Until it gets too hot.

Leave a Reply

