Excited

Now the holiday is over. It’s time to go back to working on wrapping up the end of the semester. Yeah, there’s only three weeks left. It’s not enough. Especially since we had to get up earlier than I really ever get up in the morning to take Greg to catch a plane. And what do I do when we get back? I eat donuts and drink coffee only to fall asleep on the couch for another three hours, which completely counteracts the effects of much needed caffeine. So I’ve got homework to do after I wake up. Which might not be for another couple of hours.

Thanks to Greg, I actually got my ass to the gym on Friday. Not something that would normally happen on a binging weekend, but I’m glad I did. I thought about going again today, but I’m not so sure it will happen. I wish Greg was here because it’s easier to go to the gym when there’s someone else that wants to. Even if they don’t and you do, then you motivate each other. Or something. Anyway, I miss Greg. It was fun having him around.

I am excited for the semester to end. Even though I have a lot of work to do before then. I will have almost two months off. This is good and bad. During that two months, I should be doing a lot of studying for my exam. Hopefully, with James in reading mode all the time, that kind of discipline will rub off because usually, I set the studying aside in favor of other things. Even if they’re productive, it’s not what I should be doing.

I’m excited for Christmas. I don’t like working at Borders this time of year, but doing only one day is not too tough. It’s good when we’re fully staffed, and around the holidays, we tend to be staffed enough, even if it just means there are ten of us running around trying to help a hundred customers at once instead of the normal three. Of course, I like being busy at the store because when we’re not, I do feel bad about the amount of my slacking. But I do like Christmas. I like the music and I like the lights and I like the excitement in the air. I don’t like the cold so much, or hearing about stupid crazy people rioting at Wal-Mart, but it comes with the package, I guess.

I’m excited that Sean and Michelle have a nice house to play in. We talked to them and a few people they had over for a party last night, and it sounded like a blast. It must be nice to have a place where you can host over thirty people in relative comfort. I’m so glad that they’re doing well, and I wish their wedding was sooner than 2007 because it will be fun to go see them get married. So I guess that means I’m also excited for 2007.

I am excited for Ben, who will be returning to the states for the holidays and bringing his hot girlfriend. I am excited that Ben and his dad will be coming to our neck of the woods for a visit in early January. It’s been so long since we’ve seen him, and I’ve been loving the email conversations we’ve been having lately. I really can’t wait.

I am also excited to visit Milwaukee in January, and I hope that I will also be able to return again in early February for Pete and Jill’s wedding. Those two are so awesome and cute. I’m all about the weddings these days. Now that I’m done planning mine and going through all that, I am enjoying it all with a different perspective. It was just such a joyful time for us that I wish that joy for all my friends. Unless it’s not their thing, and I totally respect that decision, too. There are so many ways to find joy.

This has turned into the ultimate in happy posts. And it’s times like this that I’m glad I’m not limited to writing poetry. It came up in class last week how tough it is to make poetry about something that is not in some way darkened. Because the form, the poem, is so beautiful that if you add nothing but beauty and happy subject matter, it seems too flat. I’ve been trying to write love poetry lately, some happy married poems or something. I’ve been learning that it doesn’t really work that way. The darkness that appears, however unintentionally, is what tends to fill the thing with whatever it is that makes poetry stand up on its own. It’s very difficult. But it’s a fun struggle. So I guess I’m excited about that, too.

There is also one more thing. I have opened an online store. Right now, the merchandise has to do with this post about concrete and visual poetry, and some of the disillusionment that comes every once in awhile in pursuit of making good art. So, if you or someone you love is suffering such disillusionment, perhaps they might like to display it in t-shirt or coffee mug form. Just in time for the holidays.

Leave a Reply

