Submitting Again

Some time ago, I was given some good advice about sending poems to literary magazines. The advice was this: aim high. If you don’t try the big magazines, you won’t know if your poems are good enough to get into them. I’ve taken this to heart, and I just submitted four poems to a fairly prominent literary journal. This journal doesn’t accept simultaneous submissions or previously published work, so why not start there? I’d rather have my poems appear in a big name place with the opportunity to get put in other, perhaps less well-known or restrictive places than get them accepted somewhere smaller, ruling out this magazine and others like it for their future recognition. Make sense? I think so.

I’ve gotten so many rejections over the course of the last several years that I’m expecting more of the same. The hopes are not up too high. But I’m feeling good about my persistence. If I just keep going, something will get noticed. It’s a matter of being in front of the right eyes at the right time, I suppose. It’s a shame that preparing submissions is such a time-consuming process, though. Otherwise I’d do much more of it. I sacrificed my gym time to do this today. But I feel good about it, nonetheless. And maybe James and I will go out walking or something later on to make up for it, at least a little bit.

Wish me luck.

4 thoughts on “Submitting Again

  1. Jaimie says:

    Just randomly came across your blog. How did you go about finding the literary journal to submit to? Just curious…Good luck!

  2. Sara says:

    The Poet’s Market is a good place to start. But really, you’ve got to see and read copies of the magazines to find ones you like and ones that seem like they might print something similar to what you write. A lot of the magazines will send you back issues at a discount from the cover price, and there’s always the library.

  3. Lynn says:

    I was very serious about writing poetry for a number of years. I was working with a poet/editor at one point who gave me the advice of finding ALL the top journals and submitting to them ALL at once. He said, “When you get one rejected batch back, you should immediately place those rejected poems in another envelope to go out to another publication.” James Tate had a similar approach as well when he started writing. I would go through The Poet’s Market, like Sara says, and find reputable journals, then start mailing, mailing, mailing.

  4. Lynn says:

    Sorry, you are Sara. I thought that was a comment from another reader. My bad.

Leave a Reply

