In the Hood

I just have to share this:

My loving husband accompanied me to the Candid Yak yesterday evening. We had both had a pretty long day, and I doubt that either of us was really excited to have to go do something where responsibility (mine) was involved. But he had mentioned to me that he wanted to go with me. And not because I asked him to. In fact, this time, I told him that it was perfectly fine if he did not attend this particular reading. But he said he wanted to be with me, and that kind of thing just gets me so darn hot.

The reading was pretty good until we got to the open mic portion. I won’t say much about the undergraduate who “performed,” except to relay the fact that if you want to get up and make an attempt to slam, it helps if you up the volume from library courtesy level and actually hold the microphone to your mouth. Oh yeah, and try to have decent writing, too.

Today my study group–if you could call a group of friends who have yet to actually get together and study a “study group”–was supposed to come over to my apartment. So James and I spent the morning picking up, vacuuming, and scrubbing the bathroom. I went to the gym and James left to play softball. While I was in the shower, I got the call that didn’t surprise me at all, since I already knew that one member of our group would be staying home with her flu. So I read my books and fiddled around on the computer, drinking the soda and eating the chips that James had picked up for my guests. Not a bad way to spend an afternoon, though it might’ve been nice to go play ball.

For some reason, I am craving crullers. Unfortunately, no donut shop outside the Midwest makes those things. It’s a damn shame.

One thought on “In the Hood

  1. Willow says:

    That’s an adorable picture. The beauty of open mic nights is bad poetry, in my opinion…as an audience member who writes no poetry of her own, I feel more free to giggle at the titanically trite stuff. 🙂

Leave a Reply

