Artifice

I’ve added something new to my plate. Well, I’m slowly adding something onto my plate. And when I finally get a scanner, then it will become a little more concrete. I’ve entered into the world of self-selling. First came the blog. And I’ve found my groove with this thing over the last year and a half. I’m pretty confident in my blog-writing abilities, and eventually, I hope the audience will expand. Why? Because I’m on the edge of putting my talents out there for others to enjoy. I’ve gotten myself a fancy domain on the old internet called www.artyfuss.com, which right now only directs back to these pages, but it’s somewhere to grow. And a better signature than a blogspot address, even though I do love blogspot (most of the time).

Eventually, I’m going to be putting my design skills and wit to good use to sell me some merchandise. Like t-shirts, bags, stickers and stuff. We’ll see how that goes. And once I sign up for hosting services, I’ll be displaying some of my stuff online, not including poetry because, call me paranoid, but that’s just too easy to steal. I’ll be posting readings and poetry events that I’m participating in, publication credits (when I get me some), and general resume stuff. I’m excited about this, but I’m also well aware that there is much work to be done. So I’m taking my time. I still have so much to do for school up through April 15th or so. I’m still working 25 hours a week, maintaining a household (a somewhat disorganized and lax household, but it’s still part of my job), and a marriage. I’m involved with the Candid Yak reading series at school, and almost constantly distracted by either the television or the computer. I know I’m going to have to significantly reduce the TV and internet intake, but besides that (which is more difficult than it sounds), it’s all very do-able. And with luck and some severe self-discipline I might even get myself into a regular exercise habit. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

