New Sheets

I’m afraid I’ve gotten boring. The exciting moment of the week so far has been the purchase, washing, and application of new sheets for our bed. They are dark blue and very soft and clean and good. They made getting out of bed that much harder this morning. And it is never easy.

The bad news this week is that I can’t stop gaining weight. Four pounds between Saturday and today. That’s just not right. What’s happening to my metabolism? Did I maybe leave it at your house? If you find it, please return it to me. I’d appreciate it. Until I get it back, though, I’ll have to force myself to the gym as much as I can. The thing is, if it’s between working out and doing my homework, working out usually wins. Which is both good and bad.

My recent obsessions are currently outside the realm of reading and writing poetry. I’m thinking about starting a business. Trying to make money doing something creative and fun from my own living room. I’m thinking about my husband’s job. I sometimes think I’m more obsessed with his job/search than he is. I’m thinking about babies. A lot. Too damn much, really. I’ve got a lot going on in my head, but when I try to get to work on any of it (aside from the baby thing because, well, that takes two, and we’re not quite there yet), including schoolwork, my brain just swims. I end up parked on my ass in front of the television or computer, paralyzed and accomplishing nothing.

I need a good swift kick in the rear. Get the babies out of my head. Get the husband’s job search out of there, too. I’ve got to focus on my own stuff. My writing. My art. Saving up a little starter money for initial business expenses. And go to the gym again tomorrow. And the next day. And the day after that. Keep kicking. Thwack!

One thought on “New Sheets

  1. Willow says:

    I hear that man. One of my good friends is trying to get pregnant, so it’s super tempting for me to try to do the same thing…but we, like you guys, are not there yet. Someday!

Leave a Reply

