Critical Mass

My parents arrived here yesterday afternoon. My job is awesome because my boss just let me leave work when they landed so I could pick them up at the airport. Their flight was even a little early. I braved the freeway and an unknown route to get them at the airport, which was very considerate of me especially since it was raining. The sun came out a little later, as we eventually made our way to an Irish pub, because that’s what Dad wanted for lunch. After lunch, we stocked up on liquor, and I dropped them off at the hotel for a nap.

In the meantime, I came home and attempted to do a little bit of homework. I’m not as freaked out as I was about the work that’s due Monday. I think I have a handle on it now. So, I finished folding some laundry, and was back to my book with the stereo on by the time James came home. He changed his shirt and sat down next to me at the dining room table. We talked about, what else, work.

He is reaching critical mass. He said that he’ll see what comes out of this career fair next week, but he really thinks that going to Iraq is the right thing for him to do. And he is hoping to be out from under the thumb of the Blue World Order before Christmas. I’m still behind him, it’s just that as we go forward, it’s going to become more and more real. It kind of freaks me out, but even though we’re both scared, I think we’re both a little bit excited, too. Because he will finally be doing something meaningful with his job and career. And even if he is miserable for awhile, we both know that it won’t be for nothing anymore. And that gives us both hope and confidence in our future.

By the way, thank you all for your warm thoughts and support. If this actually happens, I’m going to need a lot more of it. And you can count on me to be right there with those of you separated from your loved ones, or whose family and friends are in similarly difficult circumstances. I’ll be here, writing life as it comes at us.

In the meantime, I’m beginning to look into production for printing posters of my book pages, ways to sell them online or elsewhere. Copyright laws, etc. It probably won’t come to full fruition before next year because of school stuff, but it’s good to know that there is a market out there, even if it’s a small one that I know of for right now. I’m excited about pursuing my own opportunities in the more artistic realm. Thank you for your feedback and suggestions. Keep it coming, seriously. Because if I could make my financial contribution to our household by doing something like that, I would be the happiest girl in the world.

Leave a Reply

