Art to Art

It was a busy weekend. It will be a busy week. I’m just taking a moment to recap now. Friday was the Candid Yak, which went pretty well. There were a few miscommunications about order of readers, but overall, a good event. Of course, being the first such event of the year, I did actually expect complete disaster, and when that didn’t happen, I was happy. Now the next one is coming up on Sunday already, and this week is just chock full of things that need to get done. I have classes tomorrow, just finished writing a poem for workshop. I have to attend a reading on Thursday and two workshops on Friday afternoon (skipping out of work for those, which is always fun). For my Ekphrasis class, we’re supposed to write about some art that we actually see in person, so yesterday Natasha and I took on the National Gallery, and made an attempt on the Hirshorn, but were too tuckered out by the National Gallery to make much of a dent. So we’ve made plans to go back again soon.

I love looking at art. I could really care less about the National History or Air and Space museums at the Smithsonian, but the art stuff, that’s totally my scene. I am looking forward to seeing more over the course of the semester.

Another excitement in the near future is the visit from my parents. It worked out wonderfully that they get to be here for my reading on October 1st, when they’ll get to hear some of my favorite work that I’ve done over the last couple years and see my school and everything. I can’t wait. We’re going to go into DC a little bit like last time, and it will be a lot of fun. We will look at art. It was a lot of fun last time, which was almost two years ago already! My how time flies.

I know this entry has not been my most well thought out or reflective or anything like that, but it’s getting close to bedtime and I still have so much else to do.

Leave a Reply

