Fear of Phone Calls

Tomorrow I have to go into work and get on the phone. I have to begin the calls tomorrow because I’ve already put it off for too many days. I have a problem.

The thing is, I’m great on the phone when someone is calling with a question for me or my boss. I’m cheerful and courteous and genuinely interested in addressing the matter to the utmost satisfaction. However, when it comes to having to be the one to make the call, I panic just a little bit. It’s completely irrational, and I know it. I have to call every one of our two hundred and fifty members starting tomorrow because it’s time to make sure all of our records are up-to-date and accurate. And a huge percentage of the individuals I have to call are incredibly nice and perfectly happy to assist us with this annual update. In fact, I’m positive that none of them would ever refuse to provide me with the information we require. I just hate picking up that phone.

I guess it’s because I feel like a bother. It feels like we could easily accomplish this without the direct person-to-person contact. We could hit almost all of our members with just one email telling them to check their information online. But I know that the individual attention is something that most people appreciate from their Chamber of Commerce, and therefore, I must get a handle on my panic, gear up for tomorrow and make those calls. Once I begin the actual dialing, this feeling usually subsides, but until that point I remain full of dread. After the first call, too, it becomes easier, but I still find this the most difficult aspect of my current position. Which is interesting because I (and many people I know) consider myself a social person. Nobody knows how much of an effort it takes. Well, I guess if anyone’s reading this now, they do.

Leave a Reply

