Landscaping

A recent preoccupation: trimming the bush. That’s right, the bikini line. With summer as good as here, and a honeymoon approaching, I’m concerned about shave bumps and overgrowth.

I’ve had my issues with shaving. The grooming only lasts about a day and is accompanied by those awful itchy irritated follicles. I do not have good luck with shaving “down there.” In fact, I still have a scar from one of those damn follicles that got infected.

I recently tried Nair on all areas needing smoothening: underarms, bikini and legs. My problem with Nair is that it doesn’t remove the hair from my pits at all, and though it works very well on my legs, the bikini line gets the same aftereffects as shaving. Because the dipilatory cream doesn’t really dissolve the hair down into the follicle at all. This is a myth.

I have not tried waxing for lack of money. But essentially, doesn’t this just yank the hair out of its follicles in one stab of pain much like tearing off a band-aid? I wonder if at-home wax kits are worth the fumbling mess of inexperience, or if I should just test my pain threshold and pluck. And pluck. And pluck.

4 thoughts on “Landscaping

  1. Lee says:

    For what it’s worth, here’s my two cents:
    Don’t even try plucking. You’ll go crazy before you go bald.
    For your first time, go to a pro. You can find clean respectable places that’ll do it for $15. The band aid principle works, and it’s much easier if you can close your eyes and have someone else do it. I have personally never been able to wax anything but my legs at home — it’s kind of like cutting off your own arm with a kitchen knife.
    Or you can always get one of these, which I LOVE and have used for nearly a decade without fail.

  2. Sara says:

    I’ll have to look into that one. Thanks, Lee!

  3. Willow says:

    You do?! I just bought one and the first time I used it I thought I was going to die…it was like getting a tattoo. The box says it stops hurting so bad once you’ve done it a few times, to be fair, but I’m not sure I have the courage to do it again. But I have the crappy cheap version…maybe the less cheap ones have a hurt-erator device.

  4. Lee says:

    In my experience, they do hurt less with use. I bought my first one when I was twelve and ended up donating it to my cousin b/c I couldn’t take the tattooish pain. After a couple of years of messy waxing to loosen up the roots, I went back to magic machine of greatness. It’s still not for the faint of heart, but, hey, neither is searing hot wax or stubble…
    It also helps a lot if you don’t let the hair get longer than 1/4″.

Leave a Reply

