Animation Domination

As I was watching Fox this evening, I made note of the Sunday lineup that they’re hyping for May. Family Guy, Simpsons, King of the Hill, American Dad, etc. The [adult swim] on Cartoon Network is pretty much slaughtering the other networks’ late-night programming. And the reason? My generation. We are a cartoon generation.

I realized tonight that I am the media target. I am the one that they hope will watch and buy. And I point this out for a very good reason. It will not be long before I look around and go, “…the hell?” In other words, soon I will be the one who is out of touch with the “youth today.” Not that we twenty-somethings are quite “youth” anymore, because even now, I will see something like that Hillary Duff or Lizzie McGuire show or whatever her name is, or those small children mobbing the Manga aisles at work and just think, “What is going on?” And don’t get me started on Dance Dance Revolution.

However, I must take comfort that the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Care Bears, and My Little Pony are making their comebacks. Not to mention the fact that one of the greatest video games ever came out just a couple weeks ago: LEGO Star Wars. Now there’s a fad I can feel good about passing on to the youth of America.

Hmmm. Wonder if the Sylvanian Families will be coming back, too.

(Oh, wait, that’s right, I was a big loser, and no one I knew even had any of those things but me. But there’s a duck family now. And they have a website. So that’s got to count for something, no? I guess it just means that there are other losers out there somewhere who also like cute fuzzy posable animals that wear tiny clothes.

God, I’m lame.)

Anyway, I digress. My point is that I am young but I was once even younger. Soon I will not be young, yet my youth will follow me.

We are overgrown children, all.

But what’s wrong with that?

Leave a Reply

