Virgin

I hope I don’t offend anyone when I talk so openly about my sex life, or sex situation, or whatever this is supposed to be. Let’s call it my past and future sex life. I was having a conversation this afternoon with someone who is actually still saving it for marriage, or at least for the right time. It’s surprising in this day and age to know someone with such conviction, and in a five-year relationship, no less. This person confided this to me, prefaced by, “I hope this isn’t too much information.” I found that mildly amusing because some people (namely me) don’t even think to give warning when about to say something that contains the phrase, “hit me from behind,” or “you’ll take what I give you, bitch.”

Anyway, this conversation today, with someone that I think will become a pretty good friend, really put things in perspective. Granted, the virgins among us don’t know what they’re missing, but with technology the way it is, I’m sure they’ve got a pretty good idea. Some people wait from the beginning, and many of them do “other stuff” (you know, the stuff that kids today don’t consider “sexual activity”). My thoughts on the matter have always been that it’s better to find out before marriage whether or not you rock in the sack (which you can generally determine from that “other stuff,” too), because problems in that area do often lead to problems outside the bedroom. Good for my marriage that we both like sex (of all kinds). So I am glad that James and I only had to take five months off, after which, we will return to the “rocking” with renewed appreciation and vigor.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I totally respect this friend (and the significant other) for waiting. It’s just that, for me, the right time came six years ago and I haven’t looked back. I’ve been responsible about it emotionally and physically, and I’m glad I didn’t wait until marriage. However, I am also grateful for this brief opportunity to “court” without the sexual interference, as frustrating as it is to live with someone so awesome in every way and not bone them.

Leave a Reply

